Wake Up Call

I am what is generally known as a ‘grafter’. I’m always prepared to give 100% at everything I do and in supporting my family in all that they do too. Although I don’t have the school assemblies and nativity plays to attend now these were quickly replaced by options evenings and a variety of after school activities, once my kids reached high school. Whilst in the midst of juggling work,  responsibilities in the home, church or other religious responsibilities, and supporting your kids you soon lose sight of your own needs. What I have been turning a blind eye to, for the past few years, is that I’m no longer 20 something and that although age shouldn’t stop you doing things you sometimes you have to take a bit more care of yourself.

My wake up call came in the form of a doctor’s appointment that I had been ducking for a while. The original request for me to make an appointment came nearly 12 months ago, when I reached a big birthday but, as per usual, I couldn’t fit the appointment in around work and family commitments. After a couple of reminders I eventually got round to making an appointment and saw the practice nurse for a variety of tests.

First wake up call – I no longer weigh the same as I did when I was 20.

I do possess a set of scales at home but they live in the bathroom and when there is a scrum for the bathroom most mornings I never seem to have time to jump on…plus maybe I don’t want to see what all those biscuits add up to in body weight! The nurse showed me that not only was I overweight but I was considerably overweight; additionally the way that my body carries weight, around my tummy area, means that I am at a higher risk of diabetes and heart disease.

Second wake up call – I don’t eat as well as I think I do.

After the shock of seeing my weight on the scales the nurse asked me about my eating habits. At first I said I couldn’t see how I had gained so much weight so the nurse asked me to list what I would generally eat in one day. As I started listing things I was shocked to see how much I do snack on and how those calories stack up. She challenged me to get a notebook and keep a food diary for a couple of weeks then I could see where my weaknesses are; feeling quite ashamed, I agreed.

Third wake up call – I don’t exercise as much as I think I do.

I walk everywhere, as well as owning an exercise bike (well isn’t owning an exercise bike as good as using one?) so I thought I was reasonably fit. The nurse explained that there wasn’t enough cardio exercise going on and that I needed to make time to exercise. At this point I began explaining that I just don’t have time to exercise; I have a house to clean, kids to help, work to do! This is when she gave me the biggest wake up call:

Fourth wake up call – If I’m ill I can’t do everything anyway!

We discussed family history and health and I explained that on my mother’s side there is a strong history of heart disease and on my father’s side there is a strong history of diabetes and cancer. The nurse put it to me straight: I have a higher than average risk of getting ill and if I get ill then I won’t be working or looking after the house or kids. I can do nothing and the likelihood is that I will get type 2 diabetes, at the very least or I can do something and choose a healthier lifestyle, allowing me to be there for my family in the future.

I’m glad I took the time to go as I now know what I have to do to be here for my family in the future!

6 thoughts on “Wake Up Call

Leave a comment