Madeleines

I’m often very busy and don’t always have time to have a perfectly tidy house or the perfectly presented meal on the table. What my schedule has taught me is that organisation is key and that its helpful to have a few quick and easy recipes in my back pocket for when the unexpected happens. This week one of my children has been feeling very low and it so happened that I was home before the kids were due home so I took a quick look to check what ingredients I had in and decided to make a quick and simple treat that my kids love; Madeleines.

To make this recipe you will need a Madeleine tray but they are easy to pick up in your local cook-shop or online. The tray that I use is the Master Class Non-stick tray available from Amazon.

Madeleine Tray

My preferred recipe was one that I saw on the BBC Food page and was created by Michel Roux Jr. I have tried other recipes since but this is the best one I have seen so far.

You will need:

2 eggs

100g /3½ oz caster sugar

100g /3½ oz plain flour (plus a tablespoon full for dusting the madeleine tray)

1 lemon (juice and zest)

¾ tsp baking powder

100g/3½oz butter (plus a tablespoon extra for greasing the madeleine tray)

Method

1) Preheat your oven to 200c/300f/Gas mark 6.

2) Melt the butter in the microwave. Use some of the butter to grease the madeleine tray and then shake the 1 tablespoon of flour over to coat and tap out any excess.

3) Mix together the eggs and sugar until light and frothy.

4) Juice and de-zest the lemon then add the lemon, flour, baking powder and melted butter into the egg and sugar mixture. Mix lightly.

5) Leave to stand for 20 minutes before carefully pouring the mixture into the madeleine tray.

6) Bake for 8 – 10 minutes and then transfer the madeleines onto a wire rack to cool for a few minutes.

Apparently these are best eaten within an hour of cooking but as you can only make 12 in a tin and my kids and their friends seem to love them I don’t think we ever have any left after an hour anyway. The beautiful scallop shape of the madeleines also makes them pretty enough to make if you  have company and they can be made quickly enough to serve if you have an unexpected visito1r. I would love to hear about any other quick and easy recipes you have so please let me know in the comments below

Leave a comment